Why Toaster Ovens?

For me, the answer to this question is simple…I have no other choice. My apartment, while equipped with a gas stove, has no oven. Like most NYC apartments, it’s a little quirky. I love to cook and bake, so I decided not to let this small misfortune stop me and purchased a fancy shmancy convection toaster oven, the KitchenAid 12″ Convection Bake Countertop Oven. Sadly, I worked that thing to death and a year and a half later it died (RIP). Thanks to a generous wedding gift from a family friend, I am now the proud owner of a Cuisinart Convection Toaster Oven. I’ve set out to prove that I can still cook and bake whatever I please in my toaster oven…whether it’s roasted vegetables, a pie, bread, pizza, or even a roasted chicken! Ok ok…I’m not going to be preparing a 15 lb Thanksgiving turkey anytime soon, but let’s be honest, I can’t even fit my family into my small apartment anyways!

What about you? Why should you discover the art of toaster oven living? There are a number of other great benefits. You should try toaster oven living if you are:

Living in a crazy, ill-equipped apartment like mine.

Cooking for 1 or 2…if you don’t want to make a huge quantity, you can make yourself the perfect little portion!

Going green…toaster ovens are more energy efficient than regular ovens! This will save you a little green on your electrical bill too. $$$

On a diet…you can pop in one or two cookies at a time, instead of baking the whole batch. This is a nice form of portion control.

Into broiling…I have found that my convection toaster ovens roasts more evenly than a conventional oven. You don’t have to worry about putting the item on the correct rack, everything heats pretty evenly. And you can easily check on the status through the viewing window.

Annoyed by cleaning…the countertop oven is so easy to clean, just remove the crumb tray and clean, with the occasional wipe down.

I plan to post recipes, modified for toaster oven living, with tips, tricks, and recommendations. If you are a fellow toaster oven chef, please share your recipes and ideas!

Two and a half years ago, I moved into a cozy NYC apartment that had one big problem…it had no oven. I invested in a convection toaster oven and now I am living and loving toaster oven cooking. Friends and relatives are always shocked that I survive without an oven but the truth is, toaster ovens are a fabulous tool for preparing excellent meals for 1 or 2. I am not a professional chef, just a girl who is trying to get creative with a small cooking space.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Why Toaster Ovens?
  1. Julie says:

    Challenges like this one can ultimately make you a better cook/baker

  2. Rona says:

    Fun! I think that Sonja Morgan from Real Housewives of NY wrote a book about toaster oven cooking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Recipes
